How do I know if I’m any good?

I’ve always struggled to get valuable and much needed feedback in my current role. After a motivating conversation with an inspiring agile coach, it’s got me thinking about how I can get the feedback – both positive and constructive – that I need to improve.

The agile coach I met with (a young female of about my age) came across as confident and driven, and was full of ideas. I think we all need conversations with people like her every now and again. I guess that’s what coaching and mentoring are all about.

Impact assessments

It’s not just getting feedback that’s important, it’s giving it too. This is a great simple way of keeping feedback objective:

  1. Describe the situation (“In the finance meeting last Wednesday…”)
  2. Describe the behaviour (“…you folded your arms and looked away while I was speaking…”)
  3. Describe the impact: how it made you feel (“…and that made me feel like you didn’t care about what I was saying.”)

This opens up the way for a constructive conversation that gets to real intentions and positive changes going forward, rather than defensiveness, arguments and bad feelings.

Skills evaluation

When it comes to agile coaching, there’s a nice model by Lyssa Adkins that helps agile coaches to think about where their skills lie. The concept of self-evaluation can be applied to any role.

Encouraging feedback

There have been times where my colleagues have given me feedback, and I’ve tried to take it well, but I think I can take it even better. There’s always a momentary disappointment that I’ve done (or am regularly doing) something wrong, but once that’s passed, I hugely value the input. I need to remember to always thank my colleagues when they do this. I want to encourage a culture of feedback, even when it’s constructive – especially when it’s constructive.

Quick health checks

I often worry about taking up too much of my colleagues’ time, especially when it comes to asking for subjective feedback. Conversations about improvements, whether individual or as a team, can easily turn into long discussions.

I’m now armed with a great idea which I’m keen to try out at the next opportunity:

  1. List areas of the business that most affect team members
  2. Ask each individual to rate their view of each area currently: 🙂 😐 😦
  3. Then get an improvement indicator (i.e. do they feel that the area has improved, remained the same, or got worse): /\ <> \/
  4. Get a rating out of 10 for how important each area is to the individual
  5. Note down any comments or discussion points that come out of this

And there you have it – a super simple method for health checking individuals and teams, in order to work out which areas are best to focus on for improvement.

Are annual reviews enough?

Personally I’d love a monthly one-to-one, but in the absence of management time, I’m going to keep working on ideas for other ways we as a team can give each other honest feedback.

 

Leave a comment